Please help me understand gears

markiegrim
markiegrim Posts: 136
edited August 2013 in Road beginners
I am a Newbie looking to buy a road bike ca. £750 max

Today I test rode a 2012 Cannondale Synapse Sora. It had 9 gears and a tripple at the front (excuse lack of correct terminology!) = 27 speed

Seems a lot compared to most road bikes which seem to have a double up front (say, 18 speed). Is there any benefit of the 27 v 18 speed? I'm not concerned so long as the highest and lowest gears on a 18 speed set is basically the same (ratio?) as the 27 speed

If anyone understands this garbled nonsense and can advise, would be most grateful

Thanks

Comments

• macroadie
    macroadie Posts: 172
    9 gears is plenty if you are beginer. I don't see any benefit to understand this numbers so long as the bike fits you. Remember it's not the bike but the engine.
  • gethinceri
    gethinceri Posts: 1,640
    Smallest round toothy thing on the front combined with biggest toothy thing on the back is lowest, biggest round toothy thing on the front combined with smallest toothy thing on back is highest.
    Or click here:
    http://sheldonbrown.com/gears/
  • MrChuck
    MrChuck Posts: 1,663
    You might find the triple has a lower bottom gear than a double, which means you can get up steep hills easier- IMO the higher number of combinations is neither here nor there for road bikes.

Basically road bikes have either a standard double, a compact double, or a triple. For non-racers a compact double is probably the best bet- not as low a bottom gear as a triple but should be low enough unless you live somewhere super hilly. Don't be put off by the lower top-end gearing, they're still plenty fast enough!
  • ForumNewbie
    ForumNewbie Posts: 1,664
    edited August 2013