Very Budget wheels

DannyJames
DannyJames Posts: 76
edited August 2013 in Road beginners
Just wondering if anyone knows if Shimano R501 would be a straight swap with the wheels on my Triban 3? I they might be a good budget upgrade reading reviews, There the same size and accept a 8 speed rear cassette so thinking its all good?

The triban 3 wheels are are not great, The front is rumbling a bit already despite cleaning all the bearings and re greasing etc and i have a Decathlon mountain bike which benefited from a set of Shimano wheels (MT65). I know people like to spend a good chunk on wheels but since I'm a newbie and skint the 501's can be had for £70 and it free's me up a spare rear wheel for the turbo trainer which is currently raping my back tyre :shock:

Cheers

:D

Comments

• diamonddog
    diamonddog Posts: 3,426
    Quite heavy wheels the Shimano look at PX AL30 Model B's or C's(C's have a higher spoke count) are good for £150 approx 1650gm without skewers, they are the wheels I have had for a year or so running fine.
    Edit: They are 8/9 & 10 speed compatible.
  • Htron
    Htron Posts: 47
    The Shimano R501 are absolutely fine for the money. They are robust and mine are still true after 2000 miles of the worst weather last winter. For £70 they are perfectly functional, although not the lightest.
  • unixnerd
    unixnerd Posts: 2,864
    Ebay is your friend. I got some really nice used Ultegra wheels for 110 last year.
    http://www.strathspey.co.uk - Quality Binoculars at a Sensible Price.
    Specialized Roubaix SL3 Expert 2012, Cannondale CAAD5,
    Marin Mount Vision (1997), Edinburgh Country tourer, 3 cats!
  • diamonddog
    diamonddog Posts: 3,426
    Htron wrote:
    The Shimano R501 are absolutely fine for the money. They are robust and mine are still true after 2000 miles of the worst weather last winter. For £70 they are perfectly functional, although not the lightest.