So uncomfortable!

yorkshirecath
yorkshirecath Posts: 6
edited September 2013 in Women's cycling forum
Ok, so i am a total novice but have just bought a road bike, predominantly for fitness.
I've only ever had a mountain bike before so this is very different.
As i didn't want anything really fancy i looked at reviews for sub £500 bikes and liked the look of the Halfords Carrera Virtuoso, 51cm frame(i am 5ft 8 ). I did obviously try it out in the shop and it felt comfortable enough although the staff were pretty useless and it was my husband(who is a triathlete) who helped me find the right frame size.

So, i've adjusted the seat where it feels right and the handlebar rotation.
What i am finding though is that it just doesn't feel right where i am sat. I know getting used to a road bike is going to take time but for a women is it normal to be actually sat on your groin?(sorry!) I don't feel like my bottom is on the seat at all and so therefore all the pressure is on my groin area.
Could this just be because the saddle is too small and i need a bigger(and maybe padded) one?

Thanks for any help!

Comments

• rubertoe
    rubertoe Posts: 3,994
    Welcome,

we wont hold it against you that your husband is a Triantelope.

Get a female specific saddle, this will help massively, The Virtuoso is a male bike, so will have a male saddle, and as our make up differs from yours, our saddles tend to be different. Have a look at here and you will see that the women's saddles are slightly wider.

Its also a case of letting your arse get used to the saddle
    "If you always do what you've always done, you'll always get what you've always got."

PX Kaffenback 2 = Work Horse
    B-Twin Alur 700 = Sundays and Hills
  • Traintelope haha, i shall call him that from now on!

The Carrera is branded as a Unisex bike but i agree it is probably a male saddle, it's like sitting on a razor blade!

Thanks for the recommendations, will have a look at what they have.
  • rubertoe