Mechanical Disc Brakes - Not working / No bite

gt-arrowhead
gt-arrowhead Posts: 2,507
edited August 2013 in MTB workshop & tech
Ive tried fitting my disc brakes today, and its my first time doing it (probably the reason why its not going as planned..lol) and ive got it all fitted but when i pull the lever the lever is coming back all the way to the bar...and the pads aren't even touching the disc.

After a bit of adjusting i managed to get the pads to make contact with the disc, but i have almost no power, and its making a sort of continuous scraping noise, as if its barely touching. I have re tightened the brake cable several times to make sure it is as taught as possible to no avail. I have used the barrel adjustments on the lever and caliper to try and gain some bite but nothing is happening.

The other thing ive done is loosen the caliper from the adaptor and pushed it forward as far as possible to allow the pad that does the moving to come closer to the disc, then re tighten, while at the same time screwing in the other pad to come as close to the disc as possible without touching.

I have tried tightening the cable to the caliper in such a way where that the "arm" of the caliper, (the bit on the caliper that is pulled when you pull the brake) isnt fully loose, but is pulled slightly without touching the brake. I did this to try and stop the lever from going to the bar, and try and get more bite by having the pad closer to the disc when the brake isnt applied. Still no luck. It is frustrating...

Me and my dad both think that new pads will sort this problem out, eventhough the pads do seem to have a bit of life left in them. But then again thats just a guess, as it is my first time having a look at disc brakes. But i dont want to go and buy pads if it is not going to solve anything.