Slipping chaing when on on high gear

Apfik
Apfik Posts: 3
edited August 2013 in MTB workshop & tech
Hi, I am new to the the forum as well as to fixing my bike, so please apologize me if the answer to my question is obvious.
I am fixing my old MTB, which was almost impossible to run as it was standing outside for some time. I had to change a chain as it was very rusty as well as complete chain set as it was somehow slightly bended. Everything works fine, but when I set the chain to the high gear (big chain ring, two smallest gears on back) the chain stars to slip even when I paddle with moderate effort.
Do you have any advices what that could be?
I did check the cassette and it seems pretty good, but I am aware that there can be mismatch between new chain and old cassette, but the problem is only on the two highest gears, so I am not sure about that.
I was thinking about two things: 1. too long chain or 2. there is something wrong with back gear shifter.
Thank you in advance for all comments and suggestions.

Comments

• The Rookie
    The Rookie Posts: 27,812
    Have you checked for debris between the gears lifting the chain off the teeth?

If no debris, worn cassette/freewheel I'm afraid, the smallest gears wear most as less teeth are engaged with the chain.
    Currently riding a Whyte T130C, X0 drivetrain, Magura Trail brakes converted to mixed wheel size (homebuilt wheels) with 140mm Fox 34 Rhythm and RP23 suspension. 12.2Kg.
  • owenlars
    owenlars Posts: 719
    New chain on an old cassette is a recipe for slipping. This link will tell you why http://sheldonbrown.com/chains.html
  • Apfik
    Apfik Posts: 3
    Thank you for answer. I looked closer if there is debris, but it is completely clean. What I discover is that the chain get lifted by higher gear when it is on two smallest back gears. Now, I am thinking about two possibilities.
    1. I placed the the two smallest gears opposite way on the cassette.