Should I have got a triple

scopes15
scopes15 Posts: 84
edited August 2013 in Road beginners
Hi,

I have recently bought a triban 7 road bike and I find that I struggle up some fairly long hills and maybe could be doing with a lower gear?

Sorry - I am new to road cycling - can I change the cassette on this bike? (also I have noticed that when going downhill at 30 - 40 mph I am in my highest gear so I would not want to be limited anymore this way?

Thanks

Comments

• Monty Dog
    Monty Dog Posts: 20,614
    As you ride more you will get fitter and stronger - if after 6 months you're having to get off and walk, then maybe starting thinking about a triple? In terms of your existing drivetrain, you've likely got a 12-26 cassette and fitting a 12-28 will give you a slightly lower gear. As you get fitter, you'll just ride harder so it won't be any easier you'll just ride further or quicker!
    Make mine an Italian, with Campagnolo on the side..
  • scopes15
    Thanks,

I haven't had to get to off yet but I would like to increase my distances and take on more/steeper hills and was slighty worried that I had bought the wrong bike.
  • diamonddog
    diamonddog Posts: 3,426
    Just keep pedalling it does improve but it never gets easier, you just pedal harder.
  • How much do you weigh?

If you're a heavier rider (I'm 95kg), the only way it gets easier is if you shed weight, I find hills tough, I can't remember the last hill I came across where I've had to walk, have done a 15mile mountain climb without stopping.... Doesn't mean it's easy though! ....I need a triple to crawl up them, for long rides, the final climbs can be very tough indeed, and without my "granny" gear, I'd probably get off the bike and push.
  • djm501
    djm501 Posts: 378
    How much do you weigh?