Please save my ass! (I'm in pieces after two rides)

sparklehedgehog
sparklehedgehog Posts: 295
edited August 2013 in Road beginners
Bought me a boardman hybrid team a couple of days ago and have completed 39 miles in two rides (total noob, never road ridden before) and my backside is absolute agony. The boney parts.

I even tried padded shorts today and it's still horrendous, is it the seat or my lack of practice/backside hardening that's causing it?!

Urgently need a solution as I won't be able to carry on like this and I'm totally in love with this cycling lark after two rides.

Thanks in advance.
Giant Propel Advanced Pro 1 Disc 2020
Giant TCR Advanced SL 1 Disc 2020
Giant TCR Advanced 2 2020
Canyon Lux CF SL 7.0 2019
Canyon Spectral CF 7.0 2019
Canyon Speedmax CF 8.0 Di2 2020
Wattbike Atom V2
Garmin Edge 530

Comments

• iPete
    iPete Posts: 6,076
    You could be sitting too upright and not placing any weight forward..
  • y9y9
    y9y9 Posts: 24
    Padded shorts have really made a massive difference for me. Are you sitting too far up the saddle (I.e. on the really narrow bit)?
  • Burt25
    Burt25 Posts: 117
    Don't give up- the ass pain lessens the more mile you put in, but get yourself a really good pair of bib shorts (best purchase I have made) I got a pair of Castelli ones and they make a huge difference to comfort. As you increas the miles you should also get yourself some chamois cream to reduce chaffing. Get a few more rides under your belt and you will find though that your sit bones will start to man-up!
  • stick at it the pain will stop, its almost as if your sit bones have to man up or the nerves switch off
    Focus Cayo Pro
    Cotic Soul custom
    Merida Cross 4
    Planet X Dirty Disco custom cyclocross
    Tern D8 clown bike
  • Thanks for the replies.