Riding with others etiquette

DannyJames
DannyJames Posts: 76
edited August 2013 in Road beginners
As I'm new to road riding is there etiquette when riding with others ?

I am about four rides in at the moment and planning a 50 mile round trip over to HolmeMoss, I have only ridden road solo, seen some riders side by side (Don't like the idea of that) and others in-line. My mate is new to road cycling too but it just got me wondering about etiquette etc when following others any tips would be great :oops:

Comments

• DannyJames wrote:

I am about four rides in at the moment and planning a 50 mile round trip over to HolmeMoss, I have only ridden road solo, seen some riders side by side (Don't like the idea of that) and others in-line. My mate is new to road cycling too but it just got me wondering about etiquette etc when following others any tips would be great :oops:

Oh there is loads! The most important one being don't crash into the other rider. If you are riding close you need to keep extra aware of what the other guy is doing, plus a close eye on the road ahead for potholes etc.

If you are out front don't do daft stuff like braking suddendly and preferably signal that you are going to move out etc.

Depending on how many of you there are it's customary at junctions to shout "CLEAR" to signal to the following rider it's ok to proceeed.

If there is a car approaching from behind I shout "CAR BEHIND" - no idea if this is the correct call or not ;)

Nothing wrong with cycling side by side if you want, best way to talk to people, but it's polite to go to single file if a vehicle wants past or on a busy road.
  • DannyJames
    DannyJames Posts: 76
    edited August 2013
    DannyJames wrote:

Oh there is loads! The most important one being don't crash into the other rider. If you are riding close you need to keep extra aware of what the other guy is doing, plus a close eye on the road ahead for potholes etc.