2013 Viking Scirroco Yellow 56cm

y9y9
y9y9 Posts: 24
edited September 2013 in Your road bikes
Hi there, I'm new to this forum and road cycling.

Wanted to get a cheap bike (this cost just under £200) to see how I liked cycling and so far I have been loving it! The idea was to use this bike for a few months and if I still enjoyed it I would upgrade. I've had this bike for just over a week now and have only ridden around 40 miles.

It's on the heavy side (just over 12kg I believe) but its been fine for me so far.

Like I said I'm new to road cycling altogether so if you spot anything set up incorrectly or have any suggestions for the bike please let me know.

3353cc8ebd4a32e78b12d7779c77906b_zpsa754a006.jpg

Thanks

Comments

• declan1
    declan1 Posts: 2,470
    Nothing seriously wrong with these bikes. I used to have a Viking Giro D'Italia which is exactly the same frame as this. I had a few upgraded components but it was still a low end bike. Best upgrade I made was wheels - the standard wheels weigh close to 3KG a set so that should be the first thing you upgrade. Also get new tyre with the new wheels (even some £8 Vittoria Zaffiros are in a completely different league to the standard tyres). I came 2nd in a crit race (0.0005 seconds away from 1st) on my Viking!

Road - Dolan Preffisio
    MTB - On-One Inbred

I have no idea what's going on here.
  • y9y9
    Thanks for the advice, and glad to hear your Viking served you well. Can you recommend any wheels that would fit this bike? I've looked on EvansCycles but am not sure which wheelset would fit the groupset etc on this.

And I've also been looking at getting Shwalbe Lugano tyres as a quick upgrade as they're only about £19 for a pair online!
  • napoleond
    napoleond Posts: 5,992