help,need padded shorts

just pedro
just pedro Posts: 12
edited August 2013 in Road beginners
now im no expert cyclist but i get a numb bum,it hurts after a mile or so,im asking what are the best padded shorts for the money?
anyone have an opinion? :D

Comments

• supermurph09
    supermurph09 Posts: 2,471
    Endura in terms of bang for buck. Much comfier than my Castelli on rides over 50 miles.
  • lc1981
    lc1981 Posts: 820
    I'd recommend that you consider buying bib shorts rather than regular shorts. They're more comfortable and avoid problems with your jersey riding up at the back and exposing your lower back.
  • skyd0g
    skyd0g Posts: 2,540
    As you're a 'newbie' I'd suggest the following:
    A numb bum after a mile or so, suggests that you need to fit a saddle on to your seatpost. :shock:
    Seriously, it takes a good few miles under your belt to toughen-up the sit bones & get used to riding again.

DHB from Wiggle and Endura get good reviews as do Santini from Prendas Cyclismo. Get bib-shorts, rather than just plain shorts.
    Cycling weakly
  • JayKosta
    JayKosta Posts: 635
    For someone new to cycling, it usually takes a while to become accustomed to a narrow bike seat. So soreness on the first several rides is not uncommon.

If comfort doesn't improve after about 6 (or so) rides, then perhaps changes to the seat position is needed. Usually the seat is horizontal from front to back, or tilted slightly up at the front.

It might also be that the seat just doesn't fit you! A seat that is too narrow for you will never be comfortable, regardless of padding in the shorts.

Jay Kosta
    Endwell NY USA
  • JayKosta
    JayKosta Posts: 635
    Also, if you are not wearing cycling shorts, make sure to avoid heavy folded seams that go from front to back.

Jay Kosta
    Endwell NY USA