Bike building cost ?

RandG
RandG Posts: 779
edited August 2013 in MTB buying advice
Ok bit of a loaded question I guess, however, I'm in the market for a 29er fs xc bike, and as it stands I can't really see what I want on new models. For example, might not have the forks i want or right forks but wrong frame etc etc. So my question is, will a build it myself type bike cost me more/same/or less than buying a new bike ?

Bearing in mind I would probably source said parts from here or stw, oh and btw, I've never built one before so have no idea of how much the some of parts would end up. :lol:

Comments

• pesky_jones
    pesky_jones Posts: 2,890
    RandG wrote:
    Ok bit of a loaded question I guess, however, I'm in the market for a 29er fs xc bike, and as it stands I can't really see what I want on new models. For example, might not have the forks i want or right forks but wrong frame etc etc. So my question is, will a build it myself type bike cost me more/same/or less than buying a new bike ?

Bearing in mind I would probably source said parts from here or stw, oh and btw, I've never built one before so have no idea of how much the some of parts would end up. :lol:

It depends on how much your willing to spend. It depends on where, what and how you look for what you need. Noone will be able to say - if you build it up in "x" way it will be cheaper then buying a full bike for "y".

Personally, I would buy a second hand full bike - and then swap anything I dont like on it. If you get into it, you can build your next one from scratch.
  • Chunkers1980
    Chunkers1980 Posts: 8,035
    Not too many second hand 29ers about, as their owners even if they don't like them won't admit it and sell it on ;-)
  • pete_s
    pete_s Posts: 213
    TBH unless you're OK about having second hand parts on your bike it wont be cheaper than buying a good stock model. Both my fixed gear bike and mountain bike cost a small fortune when I built them and it took ages.