How often do you check your Quick Releases?

fwgx
fwgx Posts: 114
edited July 2013 in Workshop
As per the title. How often do you check them?

I had a crash yesterday whereby my rear wheel became detached from the frame. I don't know if this was cause or effect. I have never checked them on my hybrid that I have been riding every day for 9 months and never had an issue.

Comments

• maringirl
    maringirl Posts: 195
    Every ride - takes nanosecs :)
  • daxplusplus
    daxplusplus Posts: 631
    Once a week .. when I put them back on after cleaning and checking the wheels, tyres and the brake pads.
    Sometimes you're the hammer, sometimes you're the nail

strava profile
  • Yossie
    Yossie Posts: 2,600
    Seriously?
  • zx6man
    zx6man Posts: 1,092
    maringirl wrote:
    Every ride - takes nanosecs :)

+1
  • seanoconn
    seanoconn Posts: 11,410
    I checked mine this morning :D ....... But only after reading the OP's other thread. I normally only touch my quick releases when I puncture, or if something feels wobbly :lol:
    Pinno, מלך אידיוט וחרא מכונאי
  • seanoconn
    I should add, I avoid wheelies or becoming airborne, just in case there is a problem.
  • arran77
    arran77 Posts: 9,260
    The front one every ride as the bike gets stored with the wheel off, the back less often until now :shock:
    "Arran, you are like the Tony Benn of smut. You have never diluted your depravity and always stand by your beliefs. You have my respect sir and your wife my pity" :lol:

seanoconn
  • rolf_f
    rolf_f Posts: 16,015
    Depends what you mean by 'check' - I look at mine. The levers are aligned in the horizontal. I can't see how the QR could come loose without the levers ending up at a different orientation so I don't feel the need to test the lever.
    Faster than a tent.......
  • junglist_matty
    junglist_matty Posts: 1,731
    I check mine every time I put the wheel back on the bike, usually something like this....