Weight loss and muscle toning

suzygarbo
suzygarbo Posts: 52
edited March 2017 in Women's cycling forum
Hi I'm new to road biking and have taken it up as a way to get regular exercise as my jobs means I'm sat down pretty much all day long. I'm not over weight (10.5 stone) but I must admit I've got room for improvement and would love to tone up my thighs. Is it true that everyone looses weight / tones up when cycling?

Comments

• suzygarbo
    Hi I'm new to road biking and have taken it up as a way to get regular exercise as my jobs means I'm sat down pretty much all day long. I'm not over weight (10.5 stone) but I must admit I've got room for improvement and would love to tone up my thighs. Is it true that everyone looses weight / tones up when cycling?
  • dannyharris
    dannyharris Posts: 217
    It is true.
    I weighed in just over 14 stone a year ago.
    Now I'm down to 11 stone. Leg muscles are toning up nicely. And losing excess baggage around my waist.
  • arran77
    arran77 Posts: 9,260
    suzygarbo wrote:
    Is it true that everyone looses weight / tones up when cycling?

To a point I'd say its true but obviously if you're shoving loads of cr@p down your throat you won't see as much benefit as if you're being generally healthy with your lifestyle.

Cycling is certainly a good way of getting healthy but for me that's just a positive plus from something I really enjoy :)
    "Arran, you are like the Tony Benn of smut. You have never diluted your depravity and always stand by your beliefs. You have my respect sir and your wife my pity" :lol:

seanoconn
  • suzygarbo
    I do eat very healthily generally trying to get my five a day most days. I have really enjoyed cycling so far, I've done 65 miles in a week and a half and can't wait till I'm fit enough to cover more miles!

Thanks for the replies I'm excited lol
  • dannyharris
    dannyharris Posts: 217
    I commute 120 miles a week then my leisure rides on top.