Replacing Spring on Raidon-LO-R 26" coil Forks

RegularRebel
RegularRebel Posts: 5
edited August 2013 in MTB workshop & tech
Hi Guys,

Its my first time posting something on the forum. I'm looking for some help! Hopefully with all the experience you guys have I'll be much wiser in no time at all!

I bought a Saracen Mantra Trail 2013 which is a hardtail (incase you didnt know) from a well known Cycle Shop Chain. I'm really happy with the bike, Ive ragged it over many many a trail already and its put up with me well. Ive changed a few things, all pretty normal stuff. The only problem I have is I'm a really, reall, really big guy and the Raidon-LO-R 26" Coil Forks (120mm) bounce about like the spring on a jack-in-a-box! My question is: can I put a different, stiffer, better spring in. Obviously this would be more cost effective. However, if i cant do that what would be the best fork for a really big rider?

Any help is most appreciated, I know this might sound a bit wrong but please dont answer if you dont know for sure. My life is depending on it on the trails and I dont want to be biting dirt any time again soon! I dislocated my shoulder 3 weeks ago coming down a mountain in Germany and at 43 the body just doesnt heel quick enough anymore.

Thanks alot.

Ian. (Keep Rididng)

Comments

• cooldad
    cooldad Posts: 32,599
    Have you tried adjusting the rebound?
    I don't do smileys.

There is no secret ingredient - Kung Fu Panda

London Calling on Facebook

Parktools
  • 97th choice
    97th choice Posts: 2,222
    Should be a red rebound adjuster on bottom of fork, plus it's an air fork not coil.
    Too-ra-loo-ra, too-ra-loo-rye, aye

Giant Trance
    Radon ZR 27.5 Race
    Btwin Alur700
    Merida CX500
  • Uli
    Uli Posts: 190
    edited July 2013
    ... plus it's an air fork not coil.
    New LO-R-26 is Coil spring / Hydraulic fork.
    Sourcing any Suntour parts is almost impossible.
  • 97th choice
    you're right, was confusing it with the X1 - LO