Carbon or Alu for Heavy rider

Trinafour
Trinafour Posts: 36
edited April 2014 in Road buying advice
Hi Am looking for a new bike but cant decide if I'm better sticking with Aluminum frame or going for a carbon frame. Tricky bit is i'm 108 Kg. I've been riding my Giant Defy for 3 years do rides up to 80 miles (still to break the 100).
Will I notice / benefit from going down the carbon route or should I stay with Alu. Budget is 1500 - 1800. The bike will be used for club runs and sportive type events. No racing.

Comments

• bmxboy10
    bmxboy10 Posts: 1,958
    what about a van nicholas ventus
  • Alitogata
    Alitogata Posts: 148
    Depends on what you want to do with your bike. Both alu and carbon can usually stand rider's weight of 110 kilos. If you intent to use your bike for commuting and some races or audax then go for alu, if you intent to use it only for races then go for carbon.
    Have in mind that in your budget you'll get either a very good Alu bike with good groupset, or an average carbon with not that expensive groupset.
  • Barteos
    Barteos Posts: 657
    IMO clearance for 28mm tyres will be more important than a frame material.
  • Trinafour
    Hi Thanks for the responses.

I'll be primarily doing club type runs and the odd organised event but no racing.

The thought of a better groupset on Alu had been my initial thought as getting more bang for bucks. However I had not thought about Ti as any I had seen were out of budget but I've looked at the Van Nic and see it is nicely within budget so can explore as an option now.
  • Wirral_paul
    Wirral_paul Posts: 2,476
    I think you should be more concerned about the wheels rather than the frame material, as a set of 20 spoke factory wheels are going to have a hard time given your weight. Also as said - clearance for wider tyres should be a big consideration (25mm minimum).
  • Trinafour