Questions.....

djwc
djwc Posts: 39
edited July 2013 in Road beginners
Sorry, total newbie to road cycling!!!!

1. I'm struggling to shift up to big chainring - am I doing something wrong? It's not because I'm struggling on the small ring don't worry!!! I have an ORBEA aqua t23 with shimano 2300 gears. Just a double chainring (34/50)

2. Best way to relieve ache at the base of my thumb? I think I must just be leaning on my hands too much which makes this area ache / go a bit numb. Ideas?

3. I swear I had another question but I can't remember it!!!

Comments

• sungod
    sungod Posts: 16,903
    if the shifting is poor, the cable tension may be a bit low, it's not uncommon on new bikes, or after replacing cables, as the outers etc. bed in the tension drops a bit, there's probably an adjuster on the downtube that you can tweak to increase tension

for this and other adjustment/repair info, this is good...

http://www.parktool.com/blog/repair-help

...just don't believe the bits saying you need all their tools

leaning on the bars, or simply gripping too tight, can cause pain/numbness, keep aware of this as you ride and make a concious effort to avoid leaning and be more relaxed

if you haven't got any, padded mitts are well worth it
    my bike - faster than god's and twice as shiny
  • diamonddog
    diamonddog Posts: 3,426
    If the chain does not lift to the big ring when you move the shifter across it could possibly need adjustment at the front mech. There are 2 little adjusting screws, one that moves the mech positioning in and one that moves it out (yours could need to come out a bit, only use slight adjustments). As you throw the lever across and pedal it does take a bit of time to react and lift to the big ring. It took a bit of fiddling to get the set up right on my turbo bike which has the same 2300 gearing. Good info on t'internet/you tube etc for your education.