First Road Bike - Specialized Allez Sport 2013 or 2014?

ncavin
ncavin Posts: 4
edited July 2013 in Road beginners
Hey guys,

I'm after my first road bike, and after a trip to Evans and much searching on the internet I had decided to go for the Specialized Allez Sport 2013 - http://www.evanscycles.com/products/spe ... 5#features and Evans have one on order for next week that I can test ride/buy.

However tonight I just saw the 2014 model! http://www.evanscycles.com/products/spe ... e-ec052507

After much inspection it looks like it's just a different paint job and £25 more expensive - but being a complete noob and not having ridden a bike for years, am I missing something? Annoyingly I prefer the 2014 colour! Looks very slick. I'm surprised in the shop they didn't mention the 2014 version. There are numerous very good reviews for the 2013 version, but none for 2014 yet as it's so new - so I'm thinking stick with 2013? Any advice is appreciated, although to be fair being so new would I even notice a difference?!

Thanks in advance.

Comments

• xtc_special
    xtc_special Posts: 130
    Go for one that feels the best fit, no point in having a great paint job if it is crap to ride.
    Have you thought about a better spec second hand bike?
    Only you can decide.

cheers.
    2014 Ribble Gran Fondo
    2009 Rockhopper Comp
  • rick_chasey
    rick_chasey Posts: 75,661
    Spec looks identical apart from the bottom bracket - which I doubt you'd notice.

Go for the paintjob you want. My first bike was a spesh allez (bought in 2005) and I ended up riding it untill last year - and I rode that a hell of a lot, including 1000km in the Pyrenees. Buy the paintjob you don't want so much and you'll live for it for literally years.
  • southdownswolf
    southdownswolf Posts: 1,525
    At those prices, buy the one that you prefer the look of. However, you may well find that you can get a good discount on the 2013 bike if you ask, or if you go elsewhere.