upgrading wheels and DIY

Kingsmill1
Kingsmill1 Posts: 103
edited July 2013 in Road beginners
I am looking at upgrading the standard Giant PR2 wheels which came with my bike to a set of fulcrum 3's, at the same time I want to upgrade the rear cassette from the current tiagra to a 105 cassette. The rest of my group set is a bit of a mix rear ultegra, front 105 and crank set is shimano 565 50 x34.
Couple of questions
is it worth upgrading the cassette from tiagra to 105 is there much difference ? ,
is this something a complete novice can do if I get the right tools ?
Finally to current group set is 12 x 28 which I find very good for climbing however shimano 105 nearest comparison is 12 x 27 is there much difference or should I bite the bullet and go for a full ultegra rear cassette.
Giant TCR Comp 2
Specialized Allez Sport

Comments

• imposter2.0
    imposter2.0 Posts: 12,028
    Kingsmill1 wrote:
    is it worth upgrading the cassette from tiagra to 105 is there much difference ? ,

unless you want a different ratio, upgrading the cassette is one of the most pointless things you could waste money on...
  • smidsy
    smidsy Posts: 5,273
    Imposter wrote:
    Kingsmill1 wrote:

unless you want a different ratio, upgrading the cassette is one of the most pointless things you could waste money on...

Closely followed by Fulcrum 3's :roll:

12/27 v 12/28 is not that much of a difference, but I often smile to myself when I use the 28. As Tesco says 'every little helps'.

No major gains between cassettes, just less weight really.
    Yellow is the new Black.
  • mabbo
    mabbo Posts: 117
    Upgrading wheels is always an option, may or may not make the bike better dependant on what you are doing it for. There's loads of advice in these forums about that.