New Biker- Unrealistic Budget?

APVBikes
APVBikes Posts: 2
edited July 2013 in Commuting general
I'm new to bikes, and I'm looking for a good quality hybrid to ride to work (roads, 6mi commute), and maybe some trails on the weekends. I am 5'1 F so I think I will need a 14-15 size frame, and I also want a pannier rack and mudguards. When I have gone to a few cycle stores to ask for opinions, I have essentially been laughed out of the store because of my budget. I am willing to spend more if its really necessary, but I find it hard to believe that I can't get a quality bike for 300p that can meet my needs. Am I being unrealistic?

Comments

• sharky1029
    sharky1029 Posts: 188
    £300 is normally considered the very lowest price to get a reasonable bike and if you want a decent bike which will also work for off roading you may struggle to find anything below £500.

That said, you should be able to find a LBS who would be helpful enough to either tell you this or be able to find you something close to your limit such as this: http://www.evanscycles.com/products/spe ... e-ec042522
  • turnerjohn
    turnerjohn Posts: 1,069
    Giant do some very good low end bikes around your budget.
    Have a look at the sales as 2014 gear is making its way in so you may find something with a few quid knocked off...or give a discount a try.
    try a different shop as well..LBC shouldn't be sending you away !
  • Loun88
    Loun88 Posts: 29
    It is quite low if you intend to buy from a bike shop. You can go down the 2nd hand route. Have you looked at bikes that comes with all the accessories you want already installed such as these:

http://www.evanscycles.com/products/jam ... e-ec041470

http://www.blissbikes.co.uk/1089544/pro ... tAodyV4Amw
  • The Rookie
    The Rookie Posts: 27,812