Clipless Pedals Review (if interested)

stephensmiths
stephensmiths Posts: 6
edited July 2013 in Road beginners
Hi all, newbie here - just a very basic review for those considering going clipless.

After much mulling I bit the bullet and purchased a pair of Shimano R078 SPD-SL Road Shoes and the Shimano SPD-SL PDR 540 Road Pedals. 20% off all Shimano products at Halfords currently if anyone is interested.

After fitting them and practising clipping on and off (with a few wobbles) on the grass yesterday, I felt confident enough to go for a ride today. I repeated a ride that I did the other day, just under 12 miles on country lanes on my Triban 3 (which had toe clips on the pedals previously). The only variable was that it was a bit sunnier as I went for my ride around 5pm instead of the usual 7pm.

The feeling of being attached to the pedals didn't feel too strange, I felt I knew what to expect and felt comfortable enough. I practised clipping out at the end of my road just to ensure I still had the nack for it and that went fine. I feel more comfortable unclipping my weaker foot to stand on if coming to a stop. I also found it is a lot easier to clip out when the pedal is at its lowest point.

The one advantage I felt was that I felt I could actually push harder down on the pedals. I felt I could really push down - left, right, left, right - which helped me to keep momentum more so than without the new pedals. This could have been due to being attached to the pedals, or simply a placebo affect of having nice new gear.

Another bonus is that you really don't want to stop at any point, because the hassle of clipping back in or walking on cleats is a last resort, so it could give you that little edge going uphill.

One downside was that I actually seem to have a bit of a bad back since. This may or may not be related to the new pedals - only time will tell. Maybe it is a case of learning to adapt my pedalling technique...