2014 bikes ship dates

ubergn0men
ubergn0men Posts: 36
edited July 2013 in MTB buying advice
Hi,

I'm relatively new to the higher end mountain bike scene, and looking at doing my first big purchase. The bike will mostly be used for trail riding, so a XC-trailer FS 29er will be perfect. I'm hoping to spend <£2500.

Been looking at bikes but most of the good ones are sold out, so I was wondering:

Does anyone have any idea when 2014 bikes will start to ship? I understand this is different from brand to brand, but will some of them start soon? Feels better paying full retail pricing for something newly released, than for something which is almost outdated (atleast to me).

I'm especially interested in the Whyte bikes, but I'm having problem sourcing them in Sweden. Aren't these bikes sold outside of the UK? Any internet based stores shipping them?

If you have any other advice on good bikes for me, please say!

Comments

• 97th choice
    97th choice Posts: 2,222
    As manufacturers try to maintain price points despite inflation, bike specs often take a hit in the new model year. So you may well be better looking at a 2013 model which will hopefully be discounted soon. It won't be outdated.
    Too-ra-loo-ra, too-ra-loo-rye, aye

Giant Trance
    Radon ZR 27.5 Race
    Btwin Alur700
    Merida CX500
  • ubergn0men
    As manufacturers try to maintain price points despite inflation, bike specs often take a hit in the new model year. So you may well be better looking at a 2013 model which will hopefully be discounted soon. It won't be outdated.
    I see, but the 2013 will likely be lowered then I guess. Might be troublesome getting the right size at this time though.
  • PaulieB85
    PaulieB85 Posts: 16
    Some 2014 Models are out now (few of the giants) so expect end of August for the rest?
    MTB - Kona kikapu deluxe XTR - 2008
    Road - Giant Defy 1 - 2014
  • Kowalski675
    Kowalski675 Posts: 4,412