Bending rear Axles

JonnyG6811
JonnyG6811 Posts: 6
edited July 2013 in MTB workshop & tech
Hello,

I'm fairly new to cycling - only been cycling about a year. I have a Claude Butler fairly basic mountain bike and ride on the road and also local bridal ways and tracks.

I've cycled about 1200 miles over the year and i've been through 5 rear axles!!!!!!! :evil: The first 2 were quick release and the following 3 have been solid cheap steel items.

As i'm sure you can imagine i'm getting a bit fed up of p155ing about with them!!!

Any suggestions on stronger/better quality axles?
As a side note i've started snapping spokes too - any suggestions on better quality spokes?

I'm taking care through pot holes, on kerbs and on the rougher bridalways.
The problem is happening because i'm a fatty so need some fat proof stuff!!!!!!!!

Any help of suggestions very much appreciated!
Jonny

Comments

• supersonic
    supersonic Posts: 82,708
    How many gears do you have, and do you know if the cogs are a cassette or freewheel?
  • Dan_xz
    Dan_xz Posts: 130
    When you say axle it sounds like you mean the skewers? The axles are part of the wheel and hollow to allow the skewers through. It should be the axles, not the skewers that are in contact with the frame and taking the most weight. The skewers are just there to clamp the wheel to the frame and so deal more with side load - could be pressure from the frame flexing that is breaking them. If the frame has canti mounts you could try fitting a stiffening plate, aka brake booster, to try and stop some of the flex. Otherwise just need to spend more on tougher components: cheap steel = weak steel.
    Rather than stronger spokes replacing the whole wheel would be better, something of good quality with 36 spokes on the rear.