Richmond Park

djwc
djwc Posts: 39
edited July 2013 in Road beginners
Hi
I've put a few posts on here lately about getting g a new bike which I now finally have, picking it up on Sunday - nice new ORBEA Aqua!!!

I'm very new to cycling and want to get my confidence up on the bike before I venture onto proper roads. Are the cycle paths in Richmond park Tarmac or are they dirt tracks? It will be a convenient place for me to go and practice, but I've just never been there and can't seem to get much info off their website as to whether the 'cycle paths' are made of Tarmac or gravel!!!

Comments

• team47b
    team47b Posts: 6,425
    chosen at random from youtube 'cos I don't live nearby, looks like decent tarmac too!!...

www.youtube.com/watch?v=qE-t-JeuH8M
    my isetta is a 300cc bike
  • team47b
    team47b Posts: 6,425
    my isetta is a 300cc bike
  • ugo.santalucia
    ugo.santalucia Posts: 28,310
    The outer 7 miles perimeter is tarmac, there are also two narrower roads that cross in the middle also tarmac, one of them makes a loop with the big perimeter... about 3 miles and pretty flat.
    Only danger is a steep curvy descent if you lap anticlockwise the main road, just mind cars, bikes and deer... other than that, it is as safe as it gets... outside rush hour the traffic is bearable... weekends can be very busy, especially with this weather. I suggest you go there very early in the morning... before 7 AM on weekdays and before 8 at weekends, it is special. Evenings after 8 PM are good too
    left the forum March 2023
  • roger_merriman
    roger_merriman Posts: 6,165
    The roads are tarmac the outer path which is a shared is a light dirt path okay for a roadie as long as it's a relaxed pace, but better suited to hybrids etc.
  • chrisaonabike
    chrisaonabike Posts: 1,914
    DJWC wrote:
    Are the cycle paths in Richmond park Tarmac or are they dirt tracks?
    They're a mixture.