Shimano 105 / Tiagra

stevetaylor20
stevetaylor20 Posts: 22
edited July 2013 in Road beginners
I am fairly new to road bikes, and have a bordman limited with shimano 105 and tiagra shifters.

I was having problems with the gears shifting to a higher cog without it miss-changing or taking a few seconds to change gear. With this problem, when i pushed the large silver lever on the right, to the left, to move onto a large cog at the back, I pushed it until it clicked and then let it back in the normal position, this gave me problems 50% of gear changes. I was thinking there was something wrong with the bike and the halfords guy swore that after test riding it he could not replicate my problem.

NOW I was messing around changing my style and, i've been pushing the right shifter to the left and when I hear the click I go a little further and then allow back to the original position, and it seems to work fine. The smaller lever I push to the left and when that clicks it works fine, so going down to smaller cogs on the back cassette works fine.

Am I mad or something or is this normal? I thought that, like on some standard hybrid commuter handle bar gears I could push the lever until I hear a click and then let go.

THis would explain why the bike mechanic at halfords could not replicate the problem, and I have heard that 105 on boardman are slightly less responsive that gearing on a smae spec Specialized. Thoughts? What i'm trying to do is figure out if there is a problem as i've jsut bought it you know, and i don't trust halfords. FYI if anyone knows of the best place to have a bike setup in london, please tell me as i'd like them to do it.

Comments

• NewTTer
    NewTTer Posts: 463
    So let me get this right, in another post you are a cycling god, smoking everyone in sight, yet you cant index the gears correctly, and actually believe that the same group-set changes differently depending on which brand of bike it is installed on!