New bike

djwc
djwc Posts: 39
edited July 2013 in Road beginners
Hi posted a few days ago and got some good advice, and I'm now looking into getting a road bike.

Yes, I'm still learning to ride (like literally learning to ride - never had a bike as a kid and I'm now 26!) but I want to get into road cycling and there's quite a few places round me which have paths which I can ride on for a while to get my confidence up before hitting the road properly.

So I've been to Evans and had myself fitted so I know what size I'm going to need, and I'm now left with the rather fun (and seemingly frustrating at the same time!) task of finding myself a bike!

What do people think honestly about buying new / second hand at this point? I had a look at the Specialized Allez at around 550, which looked and felt great. But I've seen some belting deals on ebay / gumtree etc which if I got one would be amazing as a great bike can be picked up second hand.

Does anyone have any good ideas as to what a good starter bike would be, or have any pearls of wisdom as to where I might be able to track a decent bike down outside of the obvious (buying new, ebay/gumtree etc) as I'm pretty new to the cycling fraternity so I have literally no inside knowledge!

Thanks

Comments

• fatsmoker
    fatsmoker Posts: 585
    I'd go with a Gumtree cheapy until you are a confident and more experienced rider. If you crash, you won't feel so guilty about scratching an older already scratched bike. Plus, I think, and I'm sure people will disagree, you only really appreciate the benefits of a nice bike (however you define that) when you've ridden an inferior one - at least that's what I found.
    main think of course - enjoy!
  • SwainDogg
    SwainDogg Posts: 21