15 years after...

PT_in_BRAcKNELL
PT_in_BRAcKNELL Posts: 46
edited July 2013 in MTB buying advice
Hi Guys,

After being 15 years absent of MTB... I will now restart riding. I live in Warfiled, Bracknell and as I am new in the region I gess I will have some good rides to discover!

I am planning my next bike and I have a few questions... So all the help is appreciated! :wink:

As 15 years ago I had a custom bike with a Sunn Vertigo 2 frame, I am not a fan of buying "production" bikes, simply because I feel that for the same budget we can get a better equipped bike!

So now I’ve started to research what’s in the market, what has changed and, curiously I don’t think there are revolutionary changes (apart from the disk brakes and the generalisation of the carbon frames)…

So enough of blablabla, going to the important, I have a budget of around £1600 for now and I came up with the following list:

Handlebar + Bar Ends
Truvativ Noir T40 Flat Bars 2013 - £69
Easton EC90 Carbon Bar Ends - £57
Weight 191 gr

Headset
Crank Brothers Cobalt C XC Headset - £19 - 65 gr

Disk Brakes
Avid Elixir 9 Carbon Disc Brake - Grey 2013 - £190 (pair) - 770 gr

Gear Change
SRAM X0 3x10sp Grip Shift Shifter - £129 (pair) - 574 gr

Fork
2013 SR SUNTOUR EPICON X2 LO-R lite 26” MTB Lockout Suspension - £170 - 1650 gr

Stem
FSA OS-99 CSI Stem – £51 – 98gr

Front Derailleur
SRAM X0 3x10sp High Clamp Front Mech - £50 – 145 gr

Cassette
SRAM PG1070 10 Speed MTB Cassette - £45 – 359 gr

Cranks
FSA K-Force Light BB30 MTB Chainset 10sp - £215 – 641 gr (BB included)

Chain
SRAM PC1071 10 Speed Hollow Pin Chain- £27 – 259 gr

Pedals
Crank Brothers Eggbeater 2 MTB Pedals - £62 – 272 gr

Saddle
Selle Italia SLR XP Classic Shape Saddle £70 – 180 gr

Seatpost
Ritchey WCS 1-Bolt Seatpost 2013 £63 – 195 gr

Seat Clamp
Ratio Carbon Seat Clamp - £16 – 12 gr

Front derailleur
SRAM X9 10 Speed Rear Mech £52 – 204 gr

Wheels
Mavic 2013 Crossride Disc Centre Lock Wheelset - £170 – 1815 gr

Tyres