Smartphone GPS problem (beginner here)

Cephei
Cephei Posts: 7
edited July 2013 in MTB beginners
Hi everybody, a nab MTB beginner is in need of some help:

I have been using my phone (Lumia 800) to track my rides, but it is giving ridiculous stats. Example, the phone (any app, mainly use endomondo) will say I am moving at 8kph when I have been standing still for 1 minute resting!

The elevation graph is not too bad, but not perfect (always slightly different when i check endomondo), but the speed recorder/graph is a joke. I will take 8 breaks or so on my ride, each for 1 min and it won't even recognise any breaks, neither on the phone whilst riding or when i uploaded the stats. It seems as if when I get to a low speed, the speed just crashes (other stuff fine though). Speed generally is extremely erratic whilst being recorded.

Also I tested another phone (samsung s3) with mapmyride and it was a little better, but not brilliant really. Where I go is mainly roads (lanes).

Both have fast GPS lock though, few secs or so. I am in Staffordshire Moorlands.

So I was thinking of buying Garmin edge 200. I don't want to buy it though if there will be no improvement. Is it just that smartphones are bad receivers? Will a dedicated gps receiver record more accurately?

Thank you for any answers.

Comments

• WindyG
    WindyG Posts: 1,099
    Endomondo is just total crap, a friend uses it at it's always giving out random high speeds.
    I prefer to use Strava with a Garmin 500, if you do get a Garmin the default Garmin connect software is very good.
  • The Rookie
    The Rookie Posts: 27,812
    Strava is better, but any app is only as good as the GPS location supplied to it by the core phone parts and software, garbage in and garbage out, a dedicated GPS device inevitably has a better components for the GPS reception than the parts they can squeeze into a phone!