Chantry Hill climb

ct8282
ct8282 Posts: 414
edited July 2013 in Road general
Anyone else here done the Chantry Hill climb in Sullington?

I went out last Sunday with a mate on a stunning ride and we peaked at this hill before turning back for home. I'm still fairly new to Roading, 2 months in, riding a TCR Advanced with standard gearing (not compact) and this hill nearly destroyed me. I got literally about a third of the way up in the saddle in my granny gear and then the hill got steep. I had to stand up and literally grind my way, very very slowly, up to the top.

When i got home and looked into this hill it turns out its a 1.2km long climb, averaging 10% but some areas hit 20%. My legs felt like they would burst and I had soooo many moments where I was ready to quit but I just kept thinking there's no way I will forgive myself so I churned it out. At times my pace was slow enough that balance nearly became difficult, but I dug deep and just made it to the top. My quads were huge but man the burn felt nice and the satisfaction of making it was unreal. But, it very nearly killed me.

I know a compact chainset would make a difference but I want to persist and try to become stronger so that eventually I can tackle such climbs more comfortably. Is this a foolish plan and am I hindering my progress, or do you think I can build my strength quicker by keeping the standard gearing?

Comments

• nweststeyn
    nweststeyn Posts: 1,574
    Using a compact and spinning faster up a climb will still hurt your legs, but might get you up the hill faster. The point is to get faster (for most of us anyway) so I'd definitely try a compact. Just don't let yourself sit in your granny gear all the time if you don't need it and keep pushing yourself to go as fast as you possibly can and that will make you stronger.

Grinding up in a huge gear isn't good for most peoples knees either :D

P.S. Do you know what the big cog on your cassette is? (how many teeth?)
  • ct8282