Help please

Lammya
Lammya Posts: 10
edited July 2013 in Road beginners
Hi, I'm new to road bikes, I've just bought one today, I'm in pretty good shape I play football twice a week but I went out to try the bike today and no lie after around 10 minutes I was aching like mad and struggling, I averaged 12.4mph. Am I doing anything wrong do you think, also I'm pretty daft when it comes to gears and how to work them to he the best efficiency out of the bike. Cheers in advance

Comments

• halfround
    halfround Posts: 44
    Sounds like a normal speed for a new rider , but speed depends on how much climbing your doing. I would not get caught up on speed to start , just get the miles in buiding up the distance as you improve. As for gears you want to be aiming for a cadence of 80 to 90 most of the time , a computer with this function is something I always have. But most of all enjoy the ride and stretch after.
  • Lammya
    That's great thank you, am I right in think cadence is how many times the pedals turn in a minute?
  • What part of you was aching after 10 minutes? If it was your knees, chances are you were in too high a gear. And yes, cadence is the number of pedal revolutions per minute.
  • Lammya
    Yeah it was my knees, ahh right so drop my gear down and try that? It just seemed like it was a bit too slack but ill try again tomorrow and see if it helps. Thanks
  • smidsy
    smidsy Posts: 5,273
    Lammya wrote:
    Am I doing anything wrong do you think,

You are indeed. You came on here and was honest :lol:
    Yellow is the new Black.
  • smoggysteve
    smoggysteve Posts: 2,909