Getting your speed up

Druidor
Druidor Posts: 230
edited July 2013 in Road beginners
Just got back to cycling ager many years

I have been doing a little rout at lunch times at work its only 8.6 miles which is taking me around the 29-33 minutes. along some main roads and out into the countryside for a bit of fresh air.

Been trying to get my speeds up on the flat sections which are fairly nice but still only around the following speeds according to Strava.

Max Speed 32.7mi/h
Avg Speed 16.5mi/h

http://app.strava.com/activities/65814567

Any tips the more seasoned pros out there can suggest that I can implement.
---
Sensa Trentino SL Custom 2013 - 105 Compact - Aksium Race

Comments

• bazzer2
    bazzer2 Posts: 189
    Ride more often and go longer distances.

Personally (and this isn't a good approach for everyone), I'm a tech nerd and the thought of maybe one day bagging a KoM on Strava is a massive motivator for me.
  • smidsy
    smidsy Posts: 5,273
    There is a very top secret method to getting faster.....ride more.
    Yellow is the new Black.
  • simon_masterson
    simon_masterson Posts: 2,740
    Do more cycling first, improve position second.

Once you're doing enough training, you can think about training smart - structure, HRM, nutrition etc - but if that's where you are at currently, you just need to ride more.
  • kwozzymodo
    kwozzymodo Posts: 45
    Seasoned, I may be, but pro - definitely not.

I have a training route I follow probably 3 times a week. It's around 18 miles. I've been setting myself little targets to beat over the six months or so that I have been using this particular route. I started out completing the course in 1hr 12mins and I'm now riding it sub 1hr. I break the ride into chunks, and use things like telegraph poles, clumps of trees, signposts, etc., to push my efforts as I am riding around the course. If you've got a Garmin, you could split the ride into segments and then try to beat those times when you ride the route.