Novice buying advice

fil6s
fil6s Posts: 4
edited July 2013 in Road beginners
Hello to everyone. I am in the process of reseaching a new road bike.

I am a complete novice to road cycling having never ridden a road bike before, I have however ridden countless mountain bikes.

Having read numerous topics on this and other forums, I have now well and truly confused myself. So I thought it best to ask my own questions.

The budget for my first road bike is upto £600. I would ideally like a new bike, but I am open to second hand (although looking on ebay I cannot find anything within sensible range for the size I need, I am 6.1 so looking at a 58/60cm frame).

The bikes I have been looking at are as follows:

Specialized Allez Compact 2013 - £550 @ Evans Cycles
B'TWIN Triban 3a (would like the 3, but none in stock for my size (60cm) and no second hand ones) - £299 @ Decathlon
B'TWIN Triban 5 (again these are not in stock, anyone know why?) - £429 @ Decathlon

Are there any others that I should be taking note of?

My head is saying B'TWIN Triban 3a, even though the comments are not as good and the Triban 3, is it still a good bike for the money or will I end up regretting it?? Is it be a good bike to start off with and upgrade as I improve?

Many thanks, Phil

Comments

• Shtukka
    Shtukka Posts: 59
    Hi Phil,
    Welcome to the road!

A decent place to start is the bike radar reviews (updated in April) http://www.bikeradar.com/road/gear/arti ... 000-29719/ which shows you a few bikes around your price point, and a few more up to a grand to give you an idea what more you'd get for your money.