Is 22 mile each way commute possible ?

StephenZA
StephenZA Posts: 6
edited July 2013 in Commuting general
I'm a student looking to save some money (and, more importantly, my sanity) by commuting in to London by bike rather than train approximately three times a week.

I'm new to cycling but feel I have a fairly good base level of fitness due to running and I would also have the next couple of months to try and get used to the effort required.

I have no idea whether this is a reasonable dream or if it simply isn't possible. Here's the route:
https://maps.google.co.uk/maps?q=reigat ... a=N&tab=wl

Google Maps suggests this should take around 2 hours 15 minutes if cycling.

Does anyone have any experience of commuting this far or any reservations about the route? Any help would be much appreciated. My major concern would be for my safety on the the A217 but haven't yet taken a close look.

Comments

• Azhar
    Azhar Posts: 247
    Hey Stephen. Definetly do-able mate. Looks like a nice straight road (rather turning left, right etc). i would put that route on to ridewithgps.com to give you an idea of how hilly that route is. My commut to work is about 16.5 miles and it takes me about an hour to get to work. i would imagine that 22miles, considering that its not too hilly, it could take 1hr 30mins-ish. i would do a dummy run on a weekend to get the feel of it.

i cant really comment on the road you refer to, i live on the other side of the country, but i suppose if you dont stray out to far out in to the road and you wear some high visibility jersey or jacket then you'll be fine.. i hope my input helps in some way. good luck and let us know how u get on (if you decide to do it)
  • gbsahne001
    gbsahne001 Posts: 1,973
    bored so did it for you.....

dopcoo.jpg

Even with a reasonable base level of fitness, it will take you some time to adjust to this
  • tlw1
    tlw1 Posts: 22,082
    the OP has got a few months to get used to it.