Completely new to this!...

MSAldra
MSAldra Posts: 5
edited July 2013 in Road beginners
Hi guys, I hope this is all in the right place!

First up I'd better say I have no idea about road bikes or anything really. I cycle a hybrid bike 10mins into and out of uni each day but that's about it, so feel free to send out the most basic and patronising of info; I'll need it! (And please forgive the really stupid questions!)

So basically my dad does a bit of road cycling & I'd like to join in; I could ask him for help, but then he'd probably spend hours looking into things for me & end up telling me I need to spend huge amounts of money etc. Ending my ramblings my questions/request are:
1) Anything really obvious I should be looking for or at with regards to a first road bike? Budget is pretty small given I'm a student & all, I could probable stretch to £500.
2) Is weight really all that? And what range should I be looking in? I've read reviews saying a 9.5kg bike is heavy and others saying 11kg is "nice and light-weight". I really don't have a clue here.
3) Gears, how do I know what I want? I had a flatmate who bought a road bike & ended up with racing orientated gears which wasn't exactly what he wanted.
4) I fear what I'm about to ask may be almost blasphemous is the cycling world, but... do I need to get padded shorts or can I swap a soft saddle over from an old mountain bike? I don't mind getting the shorts but I have a spare mountain bike and a few pennies saved is a few pennies saved.
5) Clip shoes, Y/N? I'm tempted to skip them for now so I can spend more on the actual bike & then by shoes/peddles later.
6) Almost every bike I've read reviews for has a review with someone moaning about the tyres. Will I need to change the tyres a bike comes with or are they just being really picky?

Apologies for the long list; any & all help would be greatly appreciated!
Cheers :D

Comments

• skyd0g
    skyd0g Posts: 2,540