Buying online - what are your top tips?

HeatherMillsLeg
HeatherMillsLeg Posts: 90
edited June 2013 in Road beginners
Hi,

We all love saving money and shopping online. Unfortunately as a result your LBS ( local bike shop) doesn't love it or you as much.

After buying a few bikes online and undoubtedly saving hundred's of £ there are quite a few pitfalls that I fell into as a beginner.

My top tip is to buy a Torque Wrench. These are NOT cheap tools. You are looking at £40+ but will be invaluable if you have to do any maintenence.

Online retailers will generally send you a pedal spanner & an Allen Key for you to fit pedals and adjust bars and stem. They will make out that this is simply a case of turning them and tightening up the bolts.

And it IS that easy. The problem is that many beginners, it's what I did, tighten these bolts as tight as possible and think - "wow, so easy, I'm a bike mechanic"!

The problem is, if you do not torque bolts correctly it can lead to serious and expensive damage and could be dangerous and is more than likely going to result in annoying creaks and groans.

Anyway - that's my top tip - what's yours?

Comments

• t4tomo
    t4tomo Posts: 2,643
    So how much did it cost you to replace your crushed carbon handlebars then? More or less than what you saved by buying online?
    :wink:

My top tips are:

Evans on price match and deliver to store (to try on for any clothing etc) for most of my stuff.

Be wary about bidding on ebay if you've been drinking.
    Bianchi Infinito CV
    Bianchi Via Nirone 7 Ultegra
    Brompton S Type
    Carrera Vengeance Ultimate Ltd
    Gary Fisher Aquila '98
    Front half of a Viking Saratoga Tandem
  • lc1981
    lc1981 Posts: 820
    My top tip is to buy a Torque Wrench. These are NOT cheap tools. You are looking at £40+ but will be invaluable if you have to do any maintenence.