Power difference in drops to aerobars.

NITR8s
NITR8s Posts: 688
edited June 2013 in Road general
I am currently using a road bike with clip on aero bars for my clubs local TT. I have noticed that when i need to put the power down while doing a TT I will switch to the drops. I dont have a power meter or anything like that but i find i will feel that i am putting more power to the pedals when on the drops.

I have only been using aerobars for about 2 months now and still do most of my riding in the drops club rides etc. Could the difference in power be down to the fact I am still fairly new to cycle in the aero position and with more practice I should get more used to it or could it be a positioning issue.

I have lowered the bars and moved my seat forward to accomidate for the aero bars and generally feel that the positioning is ok. Unfortunatly I dont have picutures for you guys at the moment.

Does anyone has any advice.

Comments

• Grill
    Grill Posts: 5,610
    Most riders will actually put out less power in a TT position. The difference is by making yourself more aerodynamic it's easier to cut through wind resistance making you feel stronger.

Achieving a proper TT fit on a road bike is nigh on impossible as the geometry makes it a compromise.
    English Cycles V3 | Cervelo P5 | Cervelo T4 | Trek Domane Koppenberg
  • slowbike
    slowbike Posts: 8,498
    I don't have experience of TTing - but I believe the TT bars do as Grill says - and are there for a constant effort. If you watch the Pros they also grab their outer bars when accelerating hard...
  • danowat
    danowat Posts: 2,877
    I am actually the other way round, I can put out more power, more comfortably, for longer, on the aerobars.........
  • slowbike
    danowat wrote:
    I am actually the other way round, I can put out more power, more comfortably, for longer, on the aerobars.........
    Ah - power over time ...
    I bet for peak power you're still better on the wider bars ...