Raleigh Mirage - Sold :(

gt-arrowhead
gt-arrowhead Posts: 2,507
edited November 2015 in Your mountain bikes
So i got bored just sitting at home, and im getting some extra money from selling stuff and fixing my mates bikes. So i decided id invest in a can of paint and rebuild my Raleigh Mirage.

This was actually my first 26 inch bike. And i actually loved it. Looked after it for over a year before i moved on to another bike. Then this got lobbed in the corner of the garden and it was sort of forgotten about. A couple months later i started riding it again after my other bike got nicked, and i converted the old style pull brakes to V brakes. First ever time i did a full change of brakes to a bike.

Anyway, this is what it looked like before i started the build:
IMAG0097_zpsb7cec949.jpg

Stripped:

IMAG0224_zpscec231d5.jpg

This was a somewhat poorly planned build because i just jumped straight into doing it. I didnt even have a clue what colour i was going to spray it until i got to the shop! :lol:

After not too much thought i bought a can of what looked to be "chrome effect" paint. I knew it wasnt going to have the exact same effect as chrome, but when i got home and tried it the outcome was completely different to the colour demonstrated on the cap. Yes i know its not always going to be the same, but bloody hell...

IMAG0230_zpsf87f2b7a.jpg

Sprayed one tube to get an idea of what it might look like
IMAG0227_zps74352c6e.jpg

I was actually going to carry on with this colour but when i got around to spraying the fork with lacquer it went all retarded! The paint itself was completely dry. I have no clue why it ended up looking like this...

IMAG0229_zpsbfd3e0ac.jpg

Was properly pissed off. had to strip the fork down again! The one tube on the frame was alot easier as i only sprayed one very thin coat.

I bought "Ignition Red" instead, and this was the outcome. At first i was like "noooo i dont like it! :(" But i soon changed my mind.

IMAG0232_zpsbe27373a.jpg