Chosing a bike from Cycle To Work Scheme (Beginner)

Zamora
Zamora Posts: 2
edited June 2013 in Commuting general
Hi I am pretty much a total beginner and I do not currently cycle at all.

However I am thinking of getting a bike due to my companies Cycle To Work Scheme. My Daily commute would be about 4.5 miles each way. I would possibly ride it a bit further on the odd weekend but this would probably be only occasionally.

I have a budget of £1000, and I have to buy my bike from
http://www.cyclesurgery.com/
I would prefer the bike not to cost the full £1000 so I can get a few accessories and I have to but the bike online, so I cannot try the bike before purchassing.

So far I am thinking that I would prefer an upright riding position and am thinking of the Hybrid bikes.

I know absolutely nothing about bikes but so far from doing some research and talking to colleagues I am thinking of the following and would appreciate any input;

http://www.cyclesurgery.com/specialized ... duct/40781
http://www.cyclesurgery.com/giant-escap ... duct/46482
http://www.cyclesurgery.com/specialized ... duct/46068

Thanks for reading!!
Zamora.

Comments

• craker
    craker Posts: 1,739
    I wouldn't spend £1000 and I probably wouldn't bother with cyclescheme. A hybrid from one of the bigger brands is probably a smart place to start though, make sure it can take mudguards if you want to commute throughout the winter. Others may suggest getting a rack to carry your luggage but I'm not too fussed about using a rucksack.

Most importantly, make sure you're comfortable on the bike. Get something that fits well, spend some money on decent cycling clothes - padded gloves, padded shorts, waterproof / windproof jacket and waterproof overshoes even. There's nothing more grim than wearing the wrong clothes on a wet day on the bike, even if you are riding like Bradley Wiggins.
  • pdw
    pdw Posts: 315