New to Road Biking

Cogsy1976
Cogsy1976 Posts: 143
edited July 2013 in Road beginners
Hi, I am new to Road biking I pick up my first bike tonight (2nd hand Carrera Zelos) I am converting from mountain biking so this is all new to me, I was (and still am to be fair) an avid mountain biker!

My Q's are what extras do you think I will need ie. in terms of clothing, I have a mountain biking helmet is it acceptable to wear this? and also what about shoes and pedals etc.. I currently ride with flat pedals on my mtb and have never tried being clipped in, the new bike has toe clips are these ok to use?? was just going to use my trainers but I do have the money to go out and buy new helmet, shoes, pedals etc (but I would rather not!) and do you need to wear gloves?

Sorry for all the Q's I am completely clueless but cant wait to get out and about!

Comments

• Padded shorts and glasses (there are loads of insects around at the moment!) are the only things I would consider essential. My road bike came with toe clips which I couldn't get on with so I replaced them with SPDs which are much easier to use - once you get used to them you just stick your feet on the pedals with no faffing around trying to get the pedals the right way up. I always have a lightweight windproof/showerproof jacket in a jersey pocket just in case but rarely use it. I tend to go a lot further on my road bike too so I make sure I have enough to repair punctures (spare tubes, pumps, etc).
  • Schoie81
    Schoie81 Posts: 749
    Cogsy,