Stomach problams/electrolytes/energy food

paulmcl89
paulmcl89 Posts: 5
edited June 2013 in Road beginners
Hi guys, I'm pretty new to cycling and at a low enough level. I generally drink some sort of isotonic drinks on the bike on longer rides, and maybe an energy gel, especially if there is climbing involved. I might also have energy bars/flapjacks the odd time and eat regular food. I'm usually pretty scared of running out of fuel and maybe I overdo it and get the balance wrong. It seems that the few times I've done longer cycles where maybe there's overnight involved so a few days cycling, it takes a while for my stomach/bowels to get right again. From stomach pains to irregular bathroom visits. I can only guess that it's taking large amounts of electrolytes and sugar, etc., wich I wouldn't quite be used to that is messing with my digestive system, maybe someone can shed some ligt on this also. My question is, is this very common, and how to other people manage, and any advice?
Thanks in advance guys

Comments

• marcusww
    marcusww Posts: 202
    This electrolyte and energy gels give me odd bowel movements too. I think you can easily get sucked in to buying all this stuff. I used to put electrolyte in all my drinks and take gels everywhere but when you really look closely at the science I felt I was just being sucked in by the marketing. Now I put Ribena in my bottles and don't eat anything for less than 30 miles. Even then it is just flapjack.
  • Grill
    Grill Posts: 5,610
    How much are you eating and drinking over how long?
    English Cycles V3 | Cervelo P5 | Cervelo T4 | Trek Domane Koppenberg
  • crikey
    crikey Posts: 362
    Just eat normally; it's only riding a bike!

You won't die a horrible starvation based death, you'll be fine.
  • Tomskii
    Tomskii Posts: 20