Another "First 100 Miler"

dabber
dabber Posts: 1,973
edited June 2013 in Road beginners
It looks like a few of us have ticked of a first miler in the last few days....

I started riding about 3 years ago and had thought about doing it. Last weekend I became even more ancient and had my 66th birthday so I thought "Time is getting on".

Went out today with a rough route in mind and it all worked out quite well. 101 miles at a moving average of 16.1mph.
I wasn't sure about pacing so played it a little bit safe. In fact I still felt reasonably strong at the end so I could probably pushed it a bit more.

Anyway, time for a beer.
“You may think that; I couldn’t possibly comment!”

Wilier Cento Uno SR/Wilier Mortirolo/Specialized Roubaix Comp/Kona Hei Hei/Calibre Bossnut

Comments

• smidsy
    smidsy Posts: 5,273
    My first 100 will be on Sunday (assuming I finish).

Did 83.7 this Sunday (I am sure the .7 is important) so should be able to eak out the rest.

If I do, it will be 18 months after taking up cycling from 20 years of nothing.
    Yellow is the new Black.
  • dabber
    I think I'll make my next target 125 miles before 2013 year end.
    150 miles before I'm 70??? I'll have to think about that but... it's a thought. :D

My previous longest was around 74 miles.

Wilier Cento Uno SR/Wilier Mortirolo/Specialized Roubaix Comp/Kona Hei Hei/Calibre Bossnut
  • elderone
    elderone Posts: 1,410
    Good god,66 years old and doing an 100 miler.very well done sir.As a 50 yr old newbie its a great inspiration
    chapeau.
    Dulce et decorum est Pro patria mori
  • Gizmodo
    Gizmodo Posts: 1,928
    edited June 2013
    elderone wrote:
    Good god,66 years old and doing an 100 miler.very well done sir.As a 50 yr old newbie its a great inspiration
    chapeau.