Noob here, have some questions

clixt
clixt Posts: 5
edited June 2013 in Road beginners
Hey guys, so I bought a really old (not even sure how old it is..) road bike, and it has a downtube shifter. Since I'm a noob, I'm not used to it and I'm thinking of upgrading the shifter that is located on the handlebar so that I could shift while I'm holding the handle bar. Where should I begin? The bike is Quintana Roo 650c with a Shimano 600 drivetrain (7 rear cogs; 2 front cogs). Front wheels were replaced because the original wheels were just bent badly..

EDIT: Yup it is purple with a splash of green paint (avoid theft...) lol
c596b1f6-1f81-4eb3-8c06-b48cca08d99f.jpg

Comments

• cyco2
    cyco2 Posts: 593
    If you google and ebay 'bar end gear shifters' you'll find what you're after.
    ...................................................................................................

If you want to be a strong rider you have to do strong things.
    However if you train like a cart horse you'll race like one.
  • marcusjb
    marcusjb Posts: 2,412
    I would begin by cutting that rear brake cable to a sensible length personally! It is also cabled in a continental style, so make sure you are happy with left hand front braking etc. or swap it back (you may well be on the continent of course).

7 speed STI shifters might take a little hunting down. Shimano allegedly make the tourney range with an sti shifter now, but I can't find a retail outlet for them. Bar end shifters may also work for you and will be easier to find.

Nice frames, my girlfriend had one for a while. But not worth splashing out masses of cash on.
  • clixt
    hipshot wrote:

@cyco2: Bar end shifters are a bit awkward though, and I have a rear view mirror installed already.
    And yes, that Sora shifters looks like it will fit my need. Thanks!!
    Too bad I live in the US...

EDIT: would this work? Is it a reasonable price??
    http://www.ebay.com/itm/SHIMANO-RSX-SHI ... 2c6fea1df4