Beginners Audaxes in and around London/SE

menthel
menthel Posts: 2,484
Hi all. Just a quick query to ask as to what is around for beginners in the way of 100-200km Audaxes in and around London (West and south preferred)? I am relatively new to cycling but love riding on my own or with one or two others and like the quiet lanes and byways that seem to be relatively undiscovered just inside and outside of the M25. I have family commitments etc so can't go mega distances for an but am really interested by the audax concept!
RIP commute...
Sometimes seen bimbling around on a purple Fratello Disc or black and red Aprire Vincenza.

Comments

• apreading
    apreading Posts: 4,535
    You might want this: http://www.aukweb.net/events/map/?From= ... =southeast

Some from Hampton Hill coming up.
  • marcusjb
    marcusjb Posts: 2,412
    http://www.aukweb.net/events/detail/13-581/ - looks a great first Audax.

Slightly skewed season because it's a London-Edinburgh-London year, but you'll still find plenty in the calendar. Very few start within the M25 - but lots start just outside it. The Nyctophobe 100 or Anfractuous 200 in October are great rides (Anfractuous was my first ever 200).

http://aukweb.net/events/detail/13-886/
  • marcusjb
    Just a quick note on the rides from Hampton Hill. The London Sightseer Audax are legendary and attract a big field, but they are very unusual. They take you around all the sites of London (hence the name), the navigation is quite challenging and the speed is very slow. They are a lot of fun - but very very different to almost every other Audax.

They are certainly not an escape into the countryside lanes!
  • menthel
    marcusjb wrote: