Chain rub dropout nightmare

rob_mafia
rob_mafia Posts: 136
edited June 2013 in MTB workshop & tech
Hello folks I'm gratefully asking for a solution to my headache at the moment this ::--

062B5161-0CBB-4F3D-A60E-9B36703335BF-11894-00000A839F96C859.jpg

How the hell has this happened? I am constructing a new frame (2005 Marin Mount Vision) and basicall got some new stuff and took sold old stuff of my older bike to finish it off, what you're looking at is the chain on last gear (9 Speed) rubbing on the frame/dropout

Now I'm no expert so if you see something obvious that I am missing let me know, this cassette and wheel are basically a straight lift from my old bike, hub is a M-756 and a sram 9 speed cassette, the only thing I can think of doing is putting a washer in between to allow for the chain to move but that can't be right surely, although there are no cable on this bike as of yet I'm assuming tat this isn't the problem.

(on a side note do you have to put a dropout on this even though there is one moulded into the frame?)

Help guys, I know you love a challenge

Cheers

Rob

Comments

• nicklouse
    nicklouse Posts: 50,675
    sounds like the OLD is too short. this can be due to missing balls in the hub. missing spacers. or just wornout hubs.
    "Do not follow where the path may lead, Go instead where there is no path, and Leave a Trail."
    Parktools :?:SheldonBrown
  • The Rookie
    The Rookie Posts: 27,812
    How snug is the axle in the dropouts, is the rim central in the frame?
    Currently riding a Whyte T130C, X0 drivetrain, Magura Trail brakes converted to mixed wheel size (homebuilt wheels) with 140mm Fox 34 Rhythm and RP23 suspension. 12.2Kg.
  • rob_mafia
    How snug is the axle in the dropouts, is the rim central in the frame?