What to wear without looking like total noob?

Liebkuchen
Liebkuchen Posts: 19
edited March 2014 in Women
I've inherited a mtb- albeit a large kids one but with a new seat post and higher handlebars. Getting it back tomorrow with fixed gears due to fraying cables issues so now I'm ready to roll. However, I don't know what to wear.

I guess I'm looking to have functional clothes (I sweat like a darts player) that don't mark me down as too much of an outsider. I see Sports Direct seem to have good basics I could supplement with ebay for something nicer. I'll be riding loops round the city park for the first few weeks before heading out on the national cycle routes as I increase mileage aiming to get onto forestry roads by autumn. I want to get into the trail side of things and hope to be out 3 times a week. I've got my eye on a local sportive at the end of the summer, too. All I own right now is a fluorescent pink waterproof cycling jacket I wear running.

As almost all the pictures in bike magazines are men and I'm 32 rather than a 20 year old Olympic hopeful, I really don't know what is appropriate. Oh, and my problem areas are proportionally large hips and bum so I'm wary of too much lycra with my rear on show. However, looser cycling shorts strike me as maybe too 'young'?

Please endulge your inner Gok Wans and advise me.

Comments

• markhewitt1978
    markhewitt1978 Posts: 7,614
    Shorts and T-shirt. Go out and ride your bike, and don't worry.
  • pesky_jones
    pesky_jones Posts: 2,890
    Yeah shorts and t shirt. I dont bother with any mtb sweaters or bike specific clothes etc. I wear tatty joggers and old hoodys. I get looks sometimes cos I reckon I look a bit chavvy but then I remember I'm riding my bike and I dont care.
  • raldat
    raldat Posts: 242
    Full Lycra is your only option ;)
  • Mindermast
    Mindermast Posts: 124