Please help! Need help on choosing first road bike

jamin78
jamin78 Posts: 9
edited June 2013 in Road beginners
Hi folks!

I'm really sorry to post what I can imagine is a overly posted subject but I am just starting out in road biking and have looked at several bikes and spoke to lots of bike shops and I am now soooo confused I need some advise!

My budget is a max of £700

My first choose was the giant defy 3 which I test road and loved but I have now been sized up for a Trek 1.2 which is also a great bike I also looked at the Raleigh San ravenio 2 (I think) but now see that there are Felt bikes and lots of others to look at!

I will be riding out 2 to 3 times a week to keep fit and join a local club once I have done a few miles!

Again sorry for the boring question but me head is a mess and I just can't decide! All help and advise would be really good!

Thanks

Comments

• declan1
    declan1 Posts: 2,470
    Try to ride all of them and go with the one that feels the best. If you still can't decide, then go for the one that looks the best. For a set budget, you aren't going to see huge performance differences between bikes, so go with your heart ;)

Road - Dolan Preffisio
    MTB - On-One Inbred

I have no idea what's going on here.
  • jamin78
    Is it sometimes better to go for a lesser brand to get better equipment?
  • declan1
    It's a good idea to get a better frame to start with, as you can easily upgrade components at a later date. Giant make very good frames - if you like the Defy it may be a good option ;)

Road - Dolan Preffisio
    MTB - On-One Inbred

• jamin78
    Would you favour the giant over the trek? The trek seems a little over priced for the same level a not so good rubber! What are the Mekk and BeOne bikes like in comparison ?
  • declan1