Is this any good

jimmas
jimmas Posts: 50
edited June 2013 in Road beginners
Hi guys, I am a newbie to the forum and just getting into road cycling, I currently have a carrera tdf road bike coming in at around 11.9 Kg, I would like to get something a little lighter and better gear wise, I struggle like a lot of people on here as soon as I hit any Gradients, I understand this will be a fitness problem as well but just wondered if this will be a better bike to start out on, I have a budget of around £800-£900 any feed back appreciated.
Boardman Road Race Bike 2012/2013 - Large 55cm 8.9Kg

Comments

• declan1
    declan1 Posts: 2,470
    Don't fall into the trap of thinking Halfords is the only place to buy a bike. They're OK for buying a first bike or a BSO but not really for anything serious.

Take a look in a proper bike shop and explain what you want and how much money you have and they'll sort you out with a good bike - make sure you test ride a few different bikes first though to see which ones you like ;)

Road - Dolan Preffisio
    MTB - On-One Inbred

I have no idea what's going on here.
  • cubegame
    cubegame Posts: 7
    As a beginner it will be far easier and cheaper to get a kilo off your body weight than it will off the bike.
  • meursault
    meursault Posts: 1,433
    I have Boardman Team, which has stood me very well so far.
    Superstition sets the whole world in flames; philosophy quenches them.

Voltaire
  • night_porter
    night_porter Posts: 888
    The Boardman is a good bike and it is currently £589 via the website so a very good price too.

http://www.bikeradar.com/gear/category/ ... e-11-45110

They are only sold via Halfords not made by them so I doubt you would get anything better in a bike shop for that money.

In answer to your question yes it is a better bike to start out on but to be fair it is probably twice the price of the TDF as well.
  • lc1981
    lc1981 Posts: 820