Any Lorry Drivers?

Pumpkin Positive
Pumpkin Positive Posts: 392
edited July 2013 in The cake stop
I'm soon to be out of a job and I'm thinking of retraining as an HGV / LGV driver. I have absolutely no knowledge or experience of this sort of work, I've been driving a desk in the family business for the last 10 years. Please excuse my ignorance!

I'm thinking of a Class I licence as a bit of a safety net and to supplement other income.

Is work hard to come by as a driver?
Do most drivers sign on with an agency and pick up whatever work comes their way?
How much time away from home could I expect?
Can I bring my bike with me?
Realistically would I be able to use it when away - would drivers typically have enough time off while away to be able to get a ride in?

Comments

• simonhead
    simonhead Posts: 1,399
    Take a look at the Eddie Stobart website. I used to supply HGV drivers to a comapny so can give a little detail but no expert:
    Work - if you are an employee of a company you earn a salary and sometimes a bonus, if you freelance its as and when and work can be difficult to come by. There are quite a few eastern europeans working freelance and this has brought rates down a little over the last few years.
    Time away - depends on how you work, could be up to 80% of the time. If its long haul then you could be away all week. Freelance is mostly shorter haul but would get you home most nights.
    Bike - Maybe, depends again if you are an employee or freelancer. If you get a folding bike I cant see any issue. Time wise you probably wouldnt use it.
    Life isnt like a box of chocolates, its like a bag of pic n mix.
  • mallorcajeff
    mallorcajeff Posts: 1,489