Small buckle in rear wheel

Woggatheboy
Woggatheboy Posts: 7
edited June 2013 in Road beginners
I'm pretty new to cycling and have picked up a small buckle in my rear wheel. I took it to a local workshop to get fixed and he had a look at it and put a new rear brake on it which apparently I needed. On going to collect it he said he'd done the best he can with the wheel and it's as straight as it'll get. On leaving there is still a small buckle in it which is noticeable when riding. Will it be that I need a new wheel or is it more the case that somewhere else may be able to straighten it back out.

It doesn't seem to be far out of true but as I know next to nothing about the maintenance of these things I was just after some advice.

Comments

• Sprool
    Sprool Posts: 1,022
    Had same issue with front wheel when crashing and glancing off a kerb, the dent is small but virtually impossible to remove and it rubs whenever i put the brakes on, generating a large knocking vibration that reduces braking efficiency and control. I replaced the rim and put it down to experience.
  • JayKosta
    JayKosta Posts: 635
    Is the rim actually dented so that a small portion is wider than it should be, or is a section of the rim out-of-true?

With a 'dent' in the rim, trying to 'fix the dent' can weaken the rim metal and possibly cause it to break at some point. So a professional repair person might not want to 'fix it', only to have it fail later and possibly cause injury.

Jay Kosta
    Endwell NY USA
  • Finlaz22
    Finlaz22 Posts: 169
    If the rim is buckled then it's standard procedure to replace it. From him getting it as true as possible but it still being noticeable, I'd be looking at a new rim...
  • I have just been to have a look at it and can't find any dents or imperfections. As it turns it just contacts the brake pads briefly. When you ride it you can feel like a twitch through the back wheel.