Strava Power Zone

skinnydog1973
skinnydog1973 Posts: 114
edited August 2013 in Road beginners
Hi i was after a bit help what does the power zone analysis on strava mean towards my cycling, i did a 13 mile ride last night average speed 17.8 mph and the power zone said 439kg energy output and 163 average power,im new to all this so are these figures good or what figures should i be aiming for the ride i did was a flat 13 miles cheers for any help

Comments

• 16mm
    16mm Posts: 545
    I'd largely ignore these figures, as they are estimates unless you have a pwoer meter.
  • schweiz
    schweiz Posts: 1,644
    it said you used 439 kJ (kilojoules) of energy and averaged a power output of 163 W (Watt energy (in J) divided by time (in seconds)

I'll start by saying that Strava power and energy values are not accurate. They are calculated by using the body weight you've entered into Strava, possible the bicycle weight and then average values for rolling resistance, wind resistance and there's probably other factors in their too (such as gradient). On flatish sections, the estimates are often way out, they get closer to real values on steeper climbs 7-8% + where aerodynamic drag becomes less of an issue for us mere mortals

As to what you should be aiming for depends mainly on your weight as what is important in not the raw power value but the power to weight ratio. So if you weigh 60 kg and can sustain 300 W then that is 5 W/kg. An 80 kg rider would have to sustain 400 W (80 x 5) to be able to climb at the same speed.

Unless you are young and/or extremely light then 163W is not particularly high. For reference I weigh 81/82 kg and can sustain a NP of 320 W (measured with a PowerTap hub) but get my ass kicked regularly. The guys beating me are probably generating the same power or less but weigh 10 or more kg less!
  • hatch87
    hatch87 Posts: 352
    schweiz wrote: