Total newbie needs some advice

jameswilson
jameswilson Posts: 14
edited June 2013 in Road beginners
Not really sure where to start...

Played rugby for last 14 years until this summer when a bad fib break ruled me out for foreseeable future. Looking now for a new fitness drive and eyeing up road cycling!
The thing is im not sure where to start, took my old bike to cycle shop whereby they told me that new road bike would cost around £750, now im sure that alot of bikes do but i was thinking of something less than £300, is this even possible?
Could anyone recommend me not only a bike but what i should be looking for? and what other accessories etc i might need? clipless/normal pedal etc

thanks

James
28 year old ex :( rugby player

Comments

• elderone
    elderone Posts: 1,410
    Best bike for £300 is the triban 3 from decathlon,very well reviewed and popular.Also you will need padded shorts as a minimum.the forum has lots of info so have a good read around.
    And welcome to the forum.
    Dulce et decorum est Pro patria mori
  • MichaelW
    MichaelW Posts: 2,164
    Helmet, gloves/mitts (for protection in a crash)
    Lock, lights, saddlebag, lube, repair kit inc pump and inner tube.
    Padded shorts (x2), worn with no underwear, always a clean pair.
    Normal shoes and platform pedals are fine for newbie riders and safer than clipless pedals.

The only flaw of the Triban 3 is that (for the style of bike) the tyre clearance is a bit tight for winter riding with mudguards.
  • thanks for advice so far!
    oxoman: old bike is a hand me down, old hybrid heavy commuter bike, find it uncomfortable and heavy to ride!

From the comments im guessing padded shorts are a must!!
  • i am also in the same position as you, recently been told to lay of the rugby because of torn cartilage in both shoulders, i have been out alot on my carerra subway which ive had for years but fancy stepping it up a notch as ive been enjoying the long rides.